brave girl

I’m not the same, I’ve changed

I know your eyes cannot see

the powerful butterfly wings of eternity

that have broken the cage, the cage without a key 

Image result for embracing the universe

she no longer exists

she is now gone from here

i have nothing left to prove

my karma is now clear

 

I won’t even try to convince you

you will have to see for yourself

if you ever loved me enough

to now make that attempt

 

i had to get up and try,

it did take a brave girl to get here

not one afraid to cry

not one afraid of her shadows

or even that she might die

 

I stood alone with the darkness

looked into my own abyss

understood the demons that lived there

and still made a choice to live

was it ever so seductive

to set up shop in the dark

never to have root in the wounds

make a spark out of a fire

I had to get up and try

it did take a brave girl to get here

not one afraid to cry

not one afraid of her shadows

or even that she might die

there were many incentives

to try and fly travel towards the light

a chance to break chains 

help our babies and children shine bright

 

i did not expect it to be easy

nothing of worth ever is

but, i am made of stronger stuff

armor made of kevlar, dig?

 

I am woman enough to do this

Goddess enough to try

I won’t ever go back to pity party

That caused me to dim my light\

 If you love me, you’d want to know that

Get to know the me, that I’ve always been

Minus the lies, acting, blame and shame

That have always been associated with my name

 I had to get up and try,

It did take a brave girl to get here

Not one afraid to cry

Not one afraid of her shadows

Or even that she might die
Leave a Reply

