13 reasons to watch 13 reasons why

I don’t remember how I came upon it.  It was before the hoopla surrounding it made to me.  I had started it, but stopped.  I think my soul knew that at that moment it was too much. Image result for 13 reasons why hannah baker

What are the chances I’d tune into a show poking its fingers into all the soft spots already exposed by writing my book, “Meant to be Here”?  What are the chances.  I’ve found other movies that have touched my soul like this before.  I think I’m led to them. 

I had stopped. My soul sister, Paula warned me about it, I don’t even think I had told her, I had already started the show. She just knows my history, and warned me.  Of course, that piqued my interest and I went back and started them all over, paying attention now, resisting the urge to tense up.  I relaxed and leaned into it all, It had something to teach me, I was sure of it.

So, who am I?  Just an average woman who is determined to use two years of living in the abyss to help at risk young people.  Why does this show matter? 

Look at what we’re doing.  We’re talking, we’re dialoging. It is bringing up issues that we have surrounding ALL of the topics highlighted in this powerful drama.  There are warnings circulating about it.  Beware if you watch it, etc. etc.  I don’t happen to agree, so here are 13 reasons I believe you MUST watch this show.

  1. If you are a parent and want to understand what really goes on in middle schools (yes it begins in middle schools) and high school. Do you really want to know what your children are up against? AND, if you don’t think this happens in YOUR school.  Watch the show.

  2. If you are contemplating becoming a teacher or social worker, this will give you an idea of how much passion you must have to impact your students. Watch the show.

  3. If you were a bully OR the bullied. I happen to have been both.  No shame or blame, just what was.  Watch the show.

  4. If you know what it’s like to be the outcast watching on the sidelines. Watch the show.

  5. If you were the head cheerleader or the favorite football jock, and want to see how your every action impacted the community, watch the show.

  6. Are you a principal, and what to see what’s going on in YOUR school, watch the show.

  7. Were you raped? Are you a rape counselor? A mentor?  Anyone at all that interacts with school age kids, watch the show.

  8. If you have, for too long, suppressed your own personal horrors down in the core of your being, and you want a catalyst for change to occur, watch the show.

  9. You want an excuse to address sensitive but monumental issues with your children, watch the show.

  10. Want to understand how toxic repressing dark issues can be. Watch the show.

  11. Can you not imagine how teenager ‘shooters’ are created? Watch the show.

  12. If you want to be moved, and inspired to open your mouth. If you too have been raped (maybe numerous times) and never realized that many woman cannot scream no… it’s still considered rape. If you want to impact the world, alchemizing pain into purpose.  If your demographic is ‘at risk’ young people and you want to be there for them.  (I watched the show)

  13. Yes, 12 was all me. I think you ought to check out the show, and open your mouth. Whether you agree, disagree, are the loner, the jock, the freak… no matter YOUR role. see how it integrates, how we with web like intricacy impact everyone else.

We are all connected, we RISE and or FALL together.  Let’s be educated, let’s be privy to what is going on with our children.  It’s the only way to impact change.

“But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain…and an athlete…and a basket case …a princess…and a criminal. Does that answer your question?” – The Breakfast Club

 

Leave a Reply

