legacy

nose to the grindstone

back pressed into the wall

i used to be committed

to punishing each of my falls

 Image may contain: 10 people, people smiling, people sitting and child

no more apologies

i’ve I’m sorried us to death

if you think I’m done rising

you ain’t seen nothing yet

 

with every fiber of my being

backed by 10,000 ancestors strong

i am shining a light so fierce

my grandpeeps need never fall

 

but if they do, my darlings

if they falter with come what may

there will be a lit path I’ve carved

holding the dark doubts at bay

 

i’ve removed every obstacle

to love that was in the way

leaving a legacy of hope and

passion to sustain the cloudy days

2 thoughts on “legacy

  1. Sweetly spoken with lots of hard work behind it! Here’s hoping their paths are much easier than yours has been! Hopefully, the wisdom you have gained will be heard by them and help lead them in a better way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

