meant to be here – outcast

I have always preferred that if I had to be hurt, it would be at the hand of strangers and not those who were ‘supposed’ to love me.

Image result for outcast society

I had never fit in anywhere. It was never more apparent than these two years in hell.  I hadn’t belonged in any foster or group home either.  Too dark for white, too white for dark, too emotional, bright, sullen, inquisitive, demonstrative, introspective… Too intelligent for the street, too street for academia.  All I ever wanted was to fit in, to belong, but not even during my dark night of the soul (textbook definition), especially not then, did I fit in except with other outcasts… the misfits. (Shaharazade, 2017).

Shaharazade, S. (2017). Meant to be Here (1st ed.). New York.

 

 

One thought on “meant to be here – outcast

Leave a Reply

